

SASKATCHEWAN HEALTH AUTHORITY PUBLIC BOARD MEETING

DATE OF MEETING: November 28, 2024

TIME: 11:00 a.m. - 11:12 a.m.

LOCATION: Sandman Signature Saskatoon South (2815 Lorne Avenue, Saskatoon) and Webex

Authority Members: Arlene Wiks (Chairperson), Tyler Bragg (Vice-Chairperson) (via Webex), Brenda Abrametz, Marilyn Charlton (via Webex), Jackie Durocher, David Fan, Rosalena Smith (via Webex), Gary Zabos, K.C. and Tom Zurowski.

Administrative Staff: Andrew Will (Chief Executive Officer), Derek Miller (Chief Operating Officer), Jim Billington (VP, Community Engagement & Communications), Michelle Mula (VP, Quality, Safety & Chief Information Officer), Mike Northcott (Chief Human Resources Officer), Michelle Schmalenberg (Executive Director, Strategy & Innovation), Dr. Susan Shaw (Chief Medical Officer), Kelly Thompson (VP, Finance & Chief Financial Officer), Lori Frank (Executive Director, Governance & Policy) and Denni Wood (Board Associate) (Recorder).

Regrets: Gillis Lavalley, Tracey Smith (Deputy Minister of Health) (Ex Officio) and Leanne Ashdown (Chief Audit Officer).

1. Call to Order

1.1. Welcome Guests

 Chairperson, A. Wiks, called the public meeting of the Saskatchewan Health Authority (SHA) to order at 11:00 a.m..

1.2. Approval of Agenda

• The following motion was brought forward:

SHA #27-24 [Carried]. Moved by D. Fan and seconded by T. Zurowski that: the Saskatchewan Health Authority Board approve the November 28, 2024, public Board meeting agenda.

1.3. Land Acknowledgement

• A. Wiks provided the Treaty and Land Acknowledgement.

1.4. Vision, Mission, Values & Philosophy of Care

• A. Wiks reviewed the SHA's Vision, Mission, Values and Philosophy of Care.

1.5. Introduction of Board Members and Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

A. Wiks introduced the Board and CEO.

1.6. Explain Meeting Protocols

• A. Wiks explained the meeting protocols to the members of the public in attendance.

2. Approval of Consent Items

2.1. Previous Meeting Minutes – September 26, 2024

The following motion was brought forward:

SHA #28-24 [Carried]. Moved by J. Durocher and seconded by G. Zabos, K.C. that: the Saskatchewan Health Authority Board approve the consent items.



3. Conflict of Interest Declaration

• No conflicts of interest were declared.

4. Ethical Decision Making Checklist Reminder

• A. Wiks reminded the Board of the Ethical Decision Making Checklist Reminder.

5. Reports

5.1. Chairperson's Report

Chairperson, A. Wiks, provided a verbal update on activities since the last Board meeting.

5.2. Chief Executive Officer's (CEO's) Report

A. Will referenced the written CEO report and welcomed questions on his report.

5.3. Chief Medical Officer's (CMO) Report

• Dr. S. Shaw referenced the written CMO's report and welcomed guestions on her report.

6. Committee Reports

6.1. Audit, Finance & Risk Committee (AFRC)

 T. Zurowski, AFRC Chairperson, provided highlights from the November 6, 2024, AFRC meeting including updates on provincial audit items, enterprise risk management and cybersecurity.

6.1.1. 2025-28 Foundation Capital Expenditure Plan Approval

- K. Thompson provided background on the 2025-28 Foundation Capital Expenditure Plan.
- The following motion was brought forward:

SHA #29-24 [Carried]. Moved by T. Zurowski and seconded by D. Fan that: the Saskatchewan Health Authority Board approve the 2025-28 Foundation Capital Expenditure Plan.

6.2. Quality & Safety Committee (QSC)

 B. Abrametz, QSC Chairperson, provided an update from the November 5, 2024, QSC meeting including updates on the Patient & Family Leadership Council, Accreditation Canada, Quality & Safety plan and Staff Safety plan.

Quality of Care

6.2.1. Key Performance Indicators Balanced Score Card

• M. Mula provided an overview on the progress of the Key Performance Indicators.

6.3. Governance & Human Resources Committee (GHRC)

6.3.1. Mission, Vision & Values Approval

- M. Charlton provided background on the Mission and Values review process.
- The following motion was brought forward:

SHA #30-24 [Carried]. Moved by M. Charlton and seconded by G. Zabos, K.C. that: the Saskatchewan Health Authority Board approve the updated Mission and Values, and renew the organization's Vision of "Healthy People, Health Saskatchewan." without amendment.

Mission:

We care. We work together to improve health and well-being; every day, for everyone.



Values:

CARES:

Compassion: We are caring. We practice empathy. We listen actively to understand each other's experiences.

Accountability: We are responsible. We own each action and decision. We are transparent and have the courage to speak up.

Respect: We are collaborative. We treat everyone with kindness, dignity, and empathy. We honour diversity and value each person as an individual.

Equity: We are committed to health equity. We recognize that factors such as geographic location, culture, and background are key determinants of health outcomes. We embrace the diversity of our teams, and work to remove barriers to ensure all Saskatchewan residents and communities can access high-quality care.

Safety: We are aware. We commit to physical, psychological, social, cultural and environmental safety. Every day. For everyone.

6.3.2. Practitioner Staff Review Panel Approval

- M. Charlton provided background on the practitioner staff review panel approval process.
- The following motion was brought forward:

SHA #31-24 [Carried]. Moved by M. Charlton and seconded by T. Zurowski that: the Saskatchewan Health Authority Board appoints the following nominees to the Practitioner Staff Review Panel for a two-year term effective November 30, 2024:

Practitioner Members

- 1. Dr. Malone Chaya
- 2. Dr. Elke Mau
- 3. Dr. Anmol Cheema
- 4. Dr. Raenelle Nesbitt
- 5. Dr. Alanna Kurytnik
- 6. Dr. Jakobus Steenkamp
- 7. Dr. Mater Ahmed
- 8. Dr. Saima Alvi
- 9. Dr. Charissa Pocket
- 10. Dr. Nita Chauhan
- 11. Dr. Dan Au-Yueng
- 12. Dr. Nick Vassos
- 13. Dr. Eric Vantomme
- 14. Dr. Brittany Ellis, Vice-Chairperson
- 15. Dr. Darrien Rattray
- 16. Dr. Kathryn Whittemore
- 17. Dr. Eric Sy
- 18. Dr. Greg Kraushaar
- 19. Dr. Zachary Wolfmueller
- 20. Dr. Olatayo Ajayi

Non-Practitioner Members:

- 1. Greg Walen, Chairperson
- 2. Sarah Buhler
- 3. Tyler Kalynchuk
- 4. Michelle Vogt
- 5. Sarah Nordin

6.3.3. Digital Transformation & Innovation Committee Membership & Terms of Reference Approval



- M. Charlton provided background on the formation of the Digital Transformation and Innovation Committee and the draft terms of reference.
- The following motion was brought forward:

SHA #32-24 [Carried]. Moved by M. Charlton and seconded by R. Smith that: the Saskatchewan Health Authority Board approve the Digital Transformation and Innovation Committee terms of reference and Committee membership as follows:

- Tyler Bragg, Chairperson
- Marilyn Charlton
- David Fan
- Gillis Lavalley
- Arlene Wiks
- Tom Zurowski

6.4. Practitioner Liaison Committee (PLC)

• A. Wiks, PLC Co-chairperson, provided an update on the November 7, 2024, PLC meeting.

7. Next Meeting Dates

February 27, 2025

8. Motion to Adjourn

SHA #33-24 [Carried]. Moved by J. Durocher that: the public meeting of the Saskatchewan Health Authority Board be adjourned at 11:12 a.m.

9. Questions from the Public in Attendance

• There were no questions, as members of the public were not in attendance.